I diagnosed the character John Nash in the film A Beautiful Mind (2001) with schizophrenia on the basis of symptoms as described in Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (5th ed. TR) DSM V TR by American Psychiatric Association (2022). Incidentally, in the film, the character was given the diagnosis of schizophrenia as well. In my paper, you can read how fictionalized portrayal of schizophrenia in the film is different from schizophrenia as it unfolds in real life, and in what ways the character John Nash exhibited the symptoms of schizophrenia in the universe of the movie.

-Lina Orlova

Leave a comment

I’m Lina

Welcome to Happier and Freer, where I document my journey of studying mental health counseling field. I have a background and advanced degrees in socio-cultural anthropology and philosophy. What brought me to mental health counseling is war. I realized that the world needs far more mental health support than it is currently receiving.

Let’s connect

    Design a site like this with WordPress.com
    Get started